I-485 Status (explanation) question?

hopetoget

Registered Users (C)
All,

I am really new to all these terminalogy and to the forum too , I am hoping one of you guys can explain to me what all this really means, about my case.

I-485 (along with EAD & AP) for both my wife and I (primary) are applied on Oct '03 in NSC and are transferred to CSC - Laguna Niguel ( since I live in San Jose, CA) on Nov '03.

Both our status on-line used to look like this for about 8 months:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Current Status:

On November 19, 2003, we transferred your I485 Application to Register Permanent Residence or to Adjust Status to an office in LOS ANGELES, CA for processing. Our office in LOS ANGELES, CA will send you a written decision as soon as processing is complete. You should receive a notice informing you that your case has been transferred to a local office. Please call the National Customer Service Center at (800) 375-5283 to receive information about local office processing times.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Then received FP notice for My wife and she gave her first FP on May 06 2004. On-line status did not change. Then first week of July we both received FP notice, We both did not get EAD until July 16 2004. After moving through the Senator's office, CIS transferred our EAD application to San Jose office. Then we visited San Jose sub-office and managed to get the EADs on July 28 2004. On the same day we both gave FP at San Jose (for my wife it was her 2nd FP).

When I looked up our I-485 status on-line last week here is what it looked like.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Application Type: I485, Application to Register Permanent Residence or to Adjust Status

Current Status: