How to File Tax While I Gave Up F1 and Am Now An Asylum Applicant?

adenleeway

Registered Users (C)
I was a student on a F1 visa last year from January to September. After decicing to apply for asylum, I gave up my F1 status and now the only status I have is pending asylum. However, while I was in school before withdrawing, I had an on-campus job and SSN, and I also earned income from the university, which was the whole income that I earned throughout the year of 2013.

As now I'm not on a valid status other than pending asylum, how should I file the tax in this situation? I contacted the ISSS office of the university, and they couldn't give me advices as I'm now between F1 and asylee. I also visited some local tax firms, but the situation is complicated and they also don't know how to do that. Hope friends on this forum could offer me any advices. Thank you very much!

I think its quite simple.

If you are a US citizen, you fill FORM 1040,
If you are F1, pending asylum or anything which is non resident, then its FORM 1040NR which
says U.S. Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return.

What if you have a pending asylum but you are no longer on F1 status?

That's exactly my situation. I earned the income while on F1, but I'm now only having a pending asylum. On the tax forms I'll need to state my status, and I only saw F1 was among the option of immigration status, but pending asylum is not a legal status in the forms.

You won't get into any trouble filing your tax as a resident, the downside is that you could be paying more tax than when you file as non resident. Non residents from certain countries have tax reciprocity agreement with USA, so if you're from one of those countries and file NR, you might not owe any tax, or just a little.

The IRS doesn't care about your immigration status, but they care very much about you paying taxes.

This is very wrong information.

"If you are F1, pending asylum or anything which is non resident"