how to ask big guys you don't know to write you recommendation letters for NIW?

hopeordream

I heard that there is a post concering my question in this forum. It is a sample letter that tells you how to ask big guys you never know to write you a letter for NIW. I tried quite a while but couldn't find it. Can anybody tell me where it is?
I have been planning to apply for NIW for almost half a year. My background is not so strong that independent big guy's recommedation letters are crucial. That is my pain and why I have not sent out my application yet. Can anyone share your experience with me?

Last edited by a moderator:
For the big guys, they are always very busy, so make the first email simply and directly. I just tell them you need a green card, which is very important for you and your future, and need a letter from them because they are world-class experts in this field, later tell them you can draft a letter if they want for their convernience and reference. In the second or third email, you can tell them your deadline, the mailing address and so on. Keep email a couple of times if no response.

I have asked several big guys to write letters for me - most of them I did't know personally. The general rule is that the bigger the guys, the more likely they are willing to help - that's exactly why they become big at first place.

Here's how I write my letter:

I introduce myself first with one sentence ("My name is XXX and I'm a research associate at XXX Institute")