H1B visa and B visa ---- please help with a few words/ suggestions :o)

Rasu

Registered Users (C)
Hi there...

I am a physician that wishes to come to the US for some research work (as a Research Assistant or Research Fellow). I would really appreciate it if you could kindly help clarify a few doubts.

1. Is the H1 quota still available for this year? (or do I have to wait till October for the new quota to start)

2. If the quota is over for this year, can I go to the US as a volunteer research fellow (i.e. on a B visa?) - and then change my status to an H1 visa after October?

I would highly appreciate any comments! Thank you.

Sincerely,
Dr Rasu
rasu@doctor.com

No Title

Dr Rasu,
Good news, the H1 quota is still very much available this year. In fact only half of the allotted H1 visas for this year have been used.
I don\'t think you can get a B visa for research job.
Good luck
MJ1

No Title

Dear MJ1, Thank you for your response. It is a relief that only about half of the allotted H1 visas for this year have been used. By the way, is there a website or a source of information where this figure can be checked some time later? I do not expect an offer for my Research Fellowship for a few weeks.

Thank you once again! Your help has been instrumental :)

Dr Rasu

No Title

Dr Rasu,
I do not know of such a site. But the INS publishes these numbers on a quarterly basis, I believe, and you can check various immigration related web sites for the numbers. You can also post under H visa discussion group on this website. This is by far the best web site on all immigration related stuff.
I would not worry too much about the H1s getting over this year. With the economy slowing down, not many H1s are being used.
Good luck with your efforts.
MJ1

No Title

Dear MJ1, Thank you once again! I am really glad I came across this discussion forum. You have ben very kind indeed :)