H1B transfer with a twist

docjan

Registered Users (C)
Dear Colleges, I am a Physician on an H1B {J1 to H1} working in an Underserved area. My employer has applied for a Labour petion, however because of financial reasons wants me to move to another location which is located in an underserved area different state and probably better for my carrier.
My questions are?
1. Can I transfer H1B to that area and how long would that take in general and how soon can I start work .
2. Is it possible,difficult??
3.Can my current Labour Certification be transfered, I read somewhere on this web site , maybe one can.
Thanks in advance
Doctorj

No Title

I will try to answer this from the info you provided.
I am assuming you are refering to LCA for H1 when you say labor certificate, no the labor certification for green card processing.
Please find out whether the employer is the same and if he/she is, then you may be able to do just a change of location instead of doing H1 transfer. If the employer is the same, you may be able to keep working without interruption.
If you have to apply for an H1 transfer (both employer and location are different), you can start working at the new location as soon as you receive a receipt notice from the INS, according to the new rules of H1b portability. Your lawyer should be able to give you more details on this.
Hope this helps.
MJ1

No Title

Yes the employer is going to be the same, with a change in location and already a petition for Labor certification has been filed ,however from my current location. They want to close this current location and move to different location.
I truly appreciate your help and good luck to you
Sincerely,
Docjan

No Title