H1 --> L1a

qj123

Registered Users (C)
I have been working for a multinational company for the past two years on H1B. Unfortunately my GC process got stalled because my wife got laid off and it was her co. which was doing it. Not expecting this situation, I never filed LC from my co. As a result I am nearly done with my 6 years. My co. lawyers suggested that I go out of the country for 6 months and come back on Blanket L1A and file for GC process. My question is:

1. Is it doable?
2. If yes, what all documents do I need to go thru this process?
3. Can I be denied a visa even though my co has blanket L1?

It is not that I do not trust my attorny but I need some experiences and little more information before I would feel comfortable with this option (not that I have any other !).

Please help.

Having spent the full term of 6 yrs on H-1B, I think, you have to be out of the counry for at least 1 year before you can come back on blanket L-1.

L-1A is good for 7 years but the time in H status counts. L-1B is only good for 5 years so that is not help.

Also remember that benefits of AC-21 (such as 7th yr. extensions, Job portability) may NOT be applicable for L-1 (A/B). This is however argued otherwise since there are no published guidelines for AC-21. What is being used currently are interpretations.

qj123,
to address your questions:

1. Is it doable?
No, after using full 6 yrs. you need to spend 1 yr. outside US.

2. If yes, what all documents do I need to go thru this process?
Go to USCIS website and download fillable Form I-129S (for blanket L-1 petition) for L1. It has all the necessary information.

(i) Form I-129
(ii) Educational Qualification – Translation & equivalency determination for non-US degree
(iii) Letters of reference for previous work experience (other than present company)