GreatGuru Pls Help : Option of H2B

youngsencation

Great Guru ,

I am currently on h4 visa , i came usa in march 2005 . My h1b premium petion has been rejected by USCIS .As the employer is very keen to hire me they have expressed desire to hire me on " H2B" . I have folliwng question in that regard . I am a software engineer with bachelor's degree from India.

1. I am eligible for h2b as i am currently on h4.?

2. How long i can work on H2B ?

3.What can be earliest start date for employment ?

4. Is there any quota for H2B similar to H1B , when its likely to be finished .

5.Can the same employer hire me on H1B once the quota becomes available on 1st oct 2006 ( application on 1st april )

6. If my employer ( one who is willing to do H2B ) decides to fire me , can i go back/change my status to H4 ?How much cost is involved in going from H2B to H4.

7. Can i resign the job if i dont like it and go back on h4 ? Am i eligible for H1B next year in that case

8. How much money is required to do H2B ?

Thanks greatguru please help me .

Youngsencation

youngsencation said:
Great Guru ,

I am currently on h4 visa , i came usa in march 2005 . My h1b premium petion has been rejected by USCIS .As the employer is very keen to hire me they have expressed desire to hire me on " H2B" . I have folliwng question in that regard . I am a software engineer with bachelor's degree from India.

1. I am eligible for h2b as i am currently on h4.?

***********You can try, but keep in mind that the most important factor as far as H-2B's are concerned, is to prove the temporariness of this position, in other words the employer must not have an ongoing need for this position.

2. How long i can work on H2B ?

**********H-2B's cannot be issued for more than 364 days at a time. It is possible, but very difficult to apply for extensions beyond this period.

3.What can be earliest start date for employment ?