GC query for 2nd Degree Nurse

2ndDegreeNurse

I am currently pursuing accelerated BS Nursing (2nd Degree option) which is a 1 yr. program. I am on F-1 visa in USA for this program.

Will I be able to qualify for VisaScreen certificate, as I read somewhere that CGFNS requires a program of altleast 2 years in length?

Do I need VisaScreen certificate or will I qualify for certified statement? and is certified statement enough for green card application?

Will I be eligible for 1 year PT (practical training) after the completion of my degree and can I work full time as a RN during this time (obviously after clearing the NCLEX and getting a license)?

Please respond.

Rn

On the 2-yr nursing program requirement for Visa Screen Certificate, i am not sure but if you are eligible to take the NCLEX-RN after graduating - then i don't think it will be an issue. The best thing is to download the visa screen handout from the cgfns.com website and read it. Call the customer service people if you have to. This is the first time i have ever heard this.

You cannot apply for I-485 without a visa screen cert. There is no other certificate program. Before, they will just send you an RFE when u don't file it with the application but now i saw in some forums (don't know if its true) that USCIS will stamp an "intent to deny" without it. This is hearsay. However, my hospital required the visa screen before they processed my papers.

Visa screen takes a while to process. Minimum 2 months even with English exemption and TOR coming here from USA.

For practical training, i am not very familiar with it. Sorry.

You cannot work unless you have a work permit (EAD). If you obtain an EAD with your F-1 visa for practical training, then its fine. As long as you have an EAD, then its legal.

2nd Degree Nurse