First Time applying for TN - Help! please!!

sarchi

Hi,

I am a CDN citizen curently in the U.S on an H4 visa (i.e spousal visa for a person whose spouse is on an H1-B visa)...and have recently accepted a job offer as a "financial analyst" in an asset/liability firm here.

I wantto go to Pearson Airport to file for a TN visa, and have yet to obtain my employment letter from my manager (hopefully tomorrow).

Here are my concerns:
1) My employer is quite willing to accomodate me in any way, so how should i go about wording the employment letter...i.e., does anyone have any online reference one can use to word their own employment letter, which is in compliance with what the officers expect at intl airports?
2) Under what category should i fit myself? I am concerned that i might be rejected if put myself under the "Economist" category, as my background is that i have a BSC Honours with a major in Stats, minor in Math and Economics. So as such, i really have no finance background.
3)Would it be better to tailor myself to fall under the mathematician/statistician category? And the only prb i see in that would be, a) wouldnt they expect a masters to fall under this category, and b) how would my job descriptions (performing leverage analysis, liquidity analysis, interest-rate anaysis and portfolio management) fall under these categories?
4) Would you guys recommend that i hire a lawyer/ ask the company if they have lawyers that deal with this?

Any advise and help will be really appreciated! Im sure someone mustv been in my shoes, and might have some helpful pointers!

Thanks a lot!!

I'm confused. Are in Toronto or the U.S. ? If you are in the U.S. you could just do everything by mail and pay $ 1,000 for premium processing and you would have your TN in two weeks (unless you prefer to fly to Pearson - I'm sure the cost of the ticket is less than $ 1,000 ).

Okay here's what you need.

First the letter needs to have three components: