Finger Printing and Approval - An overview

v_a_rao

Registered Users (C)
Here is a post I put up back in 2002. I have read some questions on this and thought it might be usefull to people getting confused with the process. I got my GC a while back (2002) but visit occassionally to help out with information based on my experience from time to time. Hope you enjoy this reading. -

For some time now, I've been reading all sorts of questions regarding FP scheduling, their relationship to RD / ND and approval dates based on finger printing dates. Recently, I had the unique opportunity of having a long and hearty conversation with an IIO at the Vermont Service Center (this is before the 800 number came in place). I'm not a lawyer and by no means can this be construed as legal advice. Having said that, my information provider at the center seemed to put it well in words for me. Here's an overview of the process:

"Finger Printing process and the Adjudication Process are disjoint processes. The only point of connection is that FP happens after a receipt for 485 is sent out and before an approval/denial is awarded for the apprlication to adjust." - more or less a quote from the IIO.