F-1 and medicare/social security taxes

Bramb90

I am about to file taxes for 2013. It came out that I owe 231 dollars. However, for the same year, my employer incorrectly withheld medicare and social security for the total amount of $1100( I am a student on F-1 visa so I am exempt from those taxes). Since my employer is unable to refund me such money and therefore I have to request it from the IRS, the IRS actually owes me $869. My plan is to fill out form 1040NR-EZ along with the forms in which I request a refund for medicare and social security with a cover letter, in which I'd say that I am not returning the 231 dollars because I am actually owed 1100 and therefore the difference is $869.

My situation is even more complicated.
For the years of 2011 and 2012, I incorrectly filed 1040A because I was advised to use turbotax which generated a form I was not supposed to use. I am now trying to amend taxes for those years. My income in 2011 was less than 2000 dollars so after filling out form 1040NR-EZ, it came out that I was owed the same money that was generated by form 1040A. However, for the year of 2012, form 1040A generated a refund of 1030 dollars when I was actually entitled to only $100. This means I would have to return ~900 dollars. However, because my employer withheld $2000, for the year of 2012, the IRS owes me more money, so I would like to proceed the same way as 2013 and request to get a refund of the difference.

I hope someone can help me out with this!! I already filled out all the forms but I want to avoid having to return 900 dollars and wait 10 months to get the $2000 that I am owed!

First of all, FICA taxes (social security tax and Medicare tax) are separate from income taxes. You do not deal with them on the income tax return. You must fill out the income tax return based on your income and income tax withheld. You cannot unilaterally decide to deduct this tax you think you are owed from your income tax.