Expired H4 visa, H1 status landing question

jan16

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

I am very new to this goup, and glad to join the discussion here!

I entered US in May 2001 on a H4 visa and have never been out of the states since then. I later changed my status to F1/OPT, and recently I received my H1 approval letter and new I-94. I never had my passport stamped a new H1 visa.

I also applied Canadian PR in Jan 2002, here is my timeline:

Jan 2002 Submit application
Jul 2003 Initial assessment passed
Oct 2003 Submit no criminal record and medical exam
Dec 2003 Immi. visa received

I plan to land Canada this coming summer, my question is: With an expired H4 visa, valid H1 status and I-94, can I return to US after landing using Automatic Revalidation?

Thanks a lot! Your response is much appreciated.
Jan

You will need valid and current visa and I-94 to enter US. Forget abt your old visa..It doesn't matter whether you crossed from Mexico illegally. Only it matters that you have current and valid visa and unexpired I-94

Mayank

Mayank,

Thank you for your reply!

Just one more question, what do you mean by "valid and current visa"? The only visa on my passport to USA is H4 visa, which was expired in 2001. Is this a "valid" visa? My H1 status is valid and the latest I-94 is not expired.

Jan.

Originally posted by mayankdave
You will need valid and current visa and I-94 to enter US. Forget abt your old visa..It doesn't matter whether you crossed from Mexico illegally. Only it matters that you have current and valid visa and unexpired I-94

Mayank

Your H-4 is no longer a valid visa. Your new H1B is a valid STATUS. The visa portability is a confusing issue - worth it to talk to an immigration lawyer about that. A lot of people have used that to come back on a valid H1 STATUS (not VISA).
Hope this helps.

Jan: