expired greencard / lost drivers license !!

rshaw

I am a resident alien (since 1985) with a "green card" which expired in November of '09. I recently misplaced/lost my drivers license (NJ) and DMV says i can't get a duplicate license since my green card has expired. I e-filed an I-90 to renew my green card but realize it may be a lengthy process. I am wondering if there is anything i can do in order to get a new drivers license while i am awaiting my application to be processed. I don't want to be driving around without it but may not have a choice.

My other question is- Do i need to send any documents to USCIS after I e-file (photocopy of my expired GC etc. They do not specify other than "initial evidence and supporting documentation") or do I just take them to my biometrics appointment when i receive one? The directions on their website were rather vague and confusing and it doesn't say anything about it on the confirmation receipt they sent me. They only mention bringing my docs with me for the biometric appt.

Their website reads this:

"Initial Evidence and Supporting Documentation:

All required initial evidence and supporting documentation must be submitted via mail to the following address:

National Benefits Center
Attn: E-Filed I-90 Application
P.O. Box 648012
Lee's Summit, MO 64002

After filing your form electronically, USCIS will mail you a biometrics appointment notice with a specific date, time, and place where you will have your fingerprints and/or photos taken. You must wait for your biometrics appointment notice to arrive in the mail prior to going to the ASC for biometrics processing. It may be several weeks until you receive your biometrics appointment notice in the mail.

You MUST bring the following materials to your biometrics appointment, or processing will NOT be completed at your scheduled time:

Biometrics appointment notice.
Photo Identification. Acceptable kinds of photo identification are: