eligible for US citizenship!?

sujjugc

I have been holding GC (family based) since early 2002 but I have been out of the country for the following dates:

2002 - 2004: I was studying in canada; visited my brother (US) once in 2003 and twice in 2004. I didn't file taxes in 2002/2003/2004 and I didn't have any bank account at that time.

2005: visited US for few days in April; continuously lived in the US (in one state) starting from July 2005 till date (July 2009).

I got married in June'05. I have been filing taxes starting from 2005. My husband is holding H1B visa and has EAD through work.

Now my question is - When would I be eligible to apply for US citizenship?

Thanks in advance!
Sujjugc

If you apply in April 2010 (5 years minus 90 days after returning from the last long trip in July 2005), your time spent studying overseas would be out of the picture and won't affect your naturalization.

If it wasn't for that long time overseas, you'd clearly be eligible to apply now. But applying now would risk being denied for staying abroad so long without having good evidence of ties to the US (didn't file taxes, no house or apartment in the US, no bank account, etc.). Although I would say your chances of approval are low if you apply now, continuous residence is a subjective determination at the discretion of the interviewer so we can't predict for sure what they will do if you apply now. So it's up to you if you want to spend the time and money to apply now and hope for the best (if denied you can reapply in April next year), or save your money and wait until April next year when you're much more assured of being approved.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have been holding GC (family based) since early 2002 but I have been out of the country for the following dates:

2002 - 2004: I was studying in canada; visited my brother (US) once in 2003 and twice in 2004. I didn't file taxes in 2002/2003/2004 and I didn't have any bank account at that time.