Dual Citizenship and Travel

direfan

Registered Users (C)
Hi All,

I am looking for some advice and hence would appreciate any help. I have dual nationality and am a US citizen as well as a citizen of Portugal and I have passports for both countries. I will be going to Brazil on a study trip. Portuguese passport holders do not require visa to enter Brazil. On the other hand, US citizens do require visas. My question is whether I can enter Brazil with my Portuguese Passport and when I return to the US, use my US passport. I was told by the Brazilian embassy that I need to travel with both passports but was just looking for some confirmation.

Basically, can I do the above? Can I travel with 2 passports? Thanks a lot.

D

Hi direfan,

I am not a lawyer or expert at this, but I have looked into the issue of dual citizenship (I have a green card and intend to apply for naturalization when I am able to). My home country allows dual citizenship as well.

You can travel with two passports (or more, if you are a citizen/national of >2 countries) as long as it is not forbidden by the laws of the countries you are a citizen of. Usually if a country permits its citizens to become nationals/citizens of another country without losing (renouncing) their original citizenship, they do not care how many passports you carry or use. You MUST use a Portuguese passport to enter Portugal, and you MUST use a U.S. passport to enter the U.S. (It is better not to show both passports at the immigration checkpoint--just to avoid confusion, although there is nothing implicitly wrong with carrying both passports on your person.) You may want to check with the Portuguese embassy/consulate to see if the visa waiver with Brazil applies to U.S./Portuguese dual citizens; however, it is my understanding that you can travel on any passport and use the rights and privileges of either citizenship (such as a visa waiver to a third country) without fear of losing your U.S. citizenship.