Did I break continuous residency with 9 months trip overseas?

ladydoctor

Dear All,

I got 10 years GC in 2015 based on marriage, which unfortunately ended in 2016. Since the divorce, I have been living at my brothers house in US.
This year, I visited overseas for 9 months and returned back to my brothers house.

My question is that does this 9 month trip overseas break my continuous residency? Please read following facts before providing the answer as it may or may not change the answer. Thanks.

- I am a medical doctor who has been studying for last few years for United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) required to work as a doctor in US.
- I don't have my own property (rental or otherwise) in US, as I have been living with my brother and his family after my husband deserted me
- I don't have a job neither in US not overseas, as I am busy with USMLE exams which requires full time attention.
- The reason of overseas visit was to visit parents, take care of their health and to prepare for USMLE
- This trip was originally planned for 6 months but got extended to 9 months due to some unforseen circumstances. I have evidence of ticket change and related medical records.
- I did not apply for Reentry permit before this trip as I was planning to return back within 6 months.
- I have been maintaining a bank balance of 8k+ in US since 2016. This money was in US when I was away for 9 months.
- I don't expect any further long trips in future as I would hopefully join 3 years medical residency program in US hospitals after passing USMLE
- My intent and aim is to gain admission into US residency program and become a licensed medical doctor and work as a doctor in US.