Degree Evaluation Woes ...

ashwinbr

Registered Users (C)
I am a software developer/engineer working for a financial company in Boston, Massachusetts, working there since 1997.
I had a very urgent question regarding education evaluation for green card purposes. I would be very grateful
to you if anyone could kindly clarify a question regarding education evaluations. Please allow me to provide
a little background about myself:
I have a Bachelors degree from India in a non-computer related field, and a masters degree from a
US university again in a non-computer related field. I have worked in India for one year in a software
firm and have taken many computer related courses within and outside the universities. I have worked
in this company on Practical Training Visa (Essentially F1) for 1 year, and have been on their H1 since 1998.
I have had the same H1 throughout.

An education evaluation was obtained from a Boston University Professor in 1998 when applying for
H1-B and based on my transcripts/certificates, experience on hand (about 2 years then) and a telephonic interview,
the professor issued a certification that I could be considered as having an equivalent of Bachelor's in Computer
Science. Based on that they issued me an H1.

Now after 4 years, I am applying for a green card (still have 2 years left) and another degree evaluation
has been done (presumably from a degree evaluation service) and they say that my education plus all the
years of experience put together is equivalent of a BS in Comp Science. According to them, after 6 and half
years I am still equal to a fresh graduate in comp science.

The job description for GC says I need a BS in CS or equivalent plus 4 years of experience, and the new
degree evaluation is taking away from the years of experience.

My question to you is the following:
Can I still use the original evaluation from the professor?
Is there a change in the laws that force me to specifically get an evaluation done from a paid service?