consular processing vs AOS for pakistan.

ziqch

Registered Users (C)
I am a physician working in underserved area for 2.5 years, I applied for NIW and labor cert both. I have labor cert. and I-140 approved, obviously my NIW is pending as that need 5 years but i do have ead and advance parole based on that. Now i am thinking of consular processing vs AOS using labour cert. my consular processing application is at NVC . no response yet. My question is:
With security check stuff going on, has anyone recently gone through consular processing in pakistan, if so what was the exprience? do they make you go through security check again? or do u get the immigration visa the same day?
I am told that AOS based on labor cert. takes about one year? is this the right time frame?
thanks for the help.

While I don't know specifics about CP in pakistan, as a general rule of thumb I would be careful with CP in countries that are on the FBIs s$^**list. While I don't believe that pakistan is classified in the 'countries that harbor terrorists' category, there has been a bit of a history of extremism there.

If you do AOS and it takes them 9 months to complete your background check, so be it. You still have an EAD and except for delaying your citizenship no harm is done. If you sit in Pakistan and there is any hickup with your clearance (e.g. bc someone has a similar sounding name), you might loose your medical career here in the US.

hadron,if I have to do cp from a middleeast country,one of bad countries list as well, but all the documents are in line,do u still see a slim chance to get GC if my name doesn't sound similar to blacklist and no matter for me if I have to wait afew months,or do u recommend me to take lawyer to embassy to raise my success to get my immig.visa?does nationality makes a role to get GC through CP while documents are in line?plz help,appreciate to hear your comment

jin464 said: