Comprehensive Pharmacy review...By leon shargeal??

Narmada

Registered Users (C)
Hi,
The book review says its more useful for NAPLEX.I want a good book for FPGEE.Is this a good buy.Also what do you think about the practice exams ( the book and test are available as a package too) as buy fot the FPGEE. Please give suggestions or your recommendations for a good study material for the fpgee.

Also the 5 th edition seems to be the latest....i am right?

Thanks,
Narmada

Hi Narmada,
When I took the FPGEE (a long time ago), I did study from the Comprehensive Pharmacy Review by Mutnick,Souney,Shargel. That was really the only book I studied from. I cannot remember the edition number and I do not know if the 5th edition is the most recent one.

Also, it took me 2 months of dedicated studying to pass the exam. If your study method is good and you do not have too many distractions (like kids, work, etc), I think its very doable.

After taking the exam though, I felt I might have gotten a better score if I had studied some more Pk stuff. For that I really don't have any suggestions for books. If your basics in Pharmacology, Med Chem and Pharmaceutics are good, you should be fine with the exam. And more material you have to study from would be better.

Hope that helps.

Diya

Hi Narmada,

I am really sorry to hear that. You could work as a pharmacy tech, but that really does not pay much at all. But have you considered getting an MPH or maybe even working in clinical research?

Just some suggestions. This situation with the NABP might work itself out. You really never know. If demand increases and there aren't sufficient pharmacists to fill up positions, then rules could change very quickly.

I hope for your case and several others in your position, that things do change.

Diya

Hi diya,

I live in Fl.So when i enquired around i did not find any M.pharm options.They do have Pharm D courses which again req this FPGee .