Citizenship Problem

direfan

Registered Users (C)
Hi All,
I am hoping somebody can answer my question. Here's the deal:
I received my permanent resident status in June of 1994. At that time I was going to school in the US and spending the rest of my time in Canada. So , since June of 1994 I have definetely spend more than 3 years in Canada. In June of 2001, I married a US citizen and applied for a green card and now am working as a contractor in the US. I applied for my Canadian citizenship and was called to take the citizenship test. While scrutinizing my passport, they determined that I now work in the US and told me that I could take the test but I would be required to meet with an immigration judge. Does that mean I will not be eligible to receive Canadian citizenship? Are these judges tough? I still spend a lot of time in Canada as I work as a contractor in the US. They told me that I would receive the appointment with a judge in 3-4 months. I took the test anyway as they recommended that I take it. I am really disappointed as I would really like to be a Canadian citizen and keep a green card? Am I out of luck? Thanks for your comments and advice.

The judge will ask you to explain your situation. If you can prove ties in Canada, then you should be fine.

Vault
Thanks a bunch for your reply. Can you please clarify as to what you mean by "ties". I have never really worked in Canada as I received my PR status when I was studying in the USA. SO I don't have a job history in Canada. What other "ties" will they be looking for. Also, will the fact that I have a US green card be a problem?

do you pay taxes in canada? do you have a house or rent(ed) an apartment? from'94 onwards till now can you show anything at all that suggests you kept your presence in canada alive? lease papers, active bank account (statements?), motorvehicle, any family in canada? all/any of this might help.