Change in residency requirements after change in citizenship

rudasi

Hello,

During May of 2011 I went to US for an internship on a J1 visa. I was a student then in Canada on an Indian passport. The two year residency requirement was added to my visa. I came back to Canada after 4 months and then went back to the US on another J1 for an internship the following year. At the end of 2013 I got my Canadian citizenship. I was wondering if the two year residency still applies to me and if it does would I have already completed the 2 years (do they have to be completed in Canada or India, I was a resident in Canada at the time)? Also if I have completed the requirements is there any document I need to get saying I have or is it already in there system?

Thank you,
Rahul

The 'home' residency pertains to your original country of residency when you received the J-1 visa - which is India not Canada. Having said that the 2 year rule only comes into effect when/if you need an immigrant visa from the US. Canadian citizens can sometimes visit (maybe even work? you have to look into that) WITHOUT a visa. So in those circumstances the 2 year rule would not apply since you aren't applying for an immigrant visa. If you plan to apply for an immigrant visa, your 2year rule would still apply. Are you sure the 2 year rule applies to you? Does it say it on your J-1 visa? You can get a FREE advisory opinion from the US gov. if you aren't 100% sure. Also some 2 year rules can be waived. Look into the waiver options. Hope this helps. I know a lot about this, so feel free to ask more.

Thank you for your reply. When I received the 2 year residency requirement I was holding a Canadian PR card and resided in Canada. I had Indian citizenship though so I think it applies to Canada, not India. Could you please let me know where I can get the information regarding finding out if the 2 year residency applies to me?

Thank you.