Can I work hourly on EAD ??Pl reply

roran

Registered Users (C)
All, I am the primary applicant and I am almost 10 months on 485. My project is ending next month and I found another similar job. The consulting company is paying me a good hourly rate and I have to start on the 15th next month. In their offer letter, they have mentioned me as a temporary employee (as I am an hourly consultant with them). Will this be a problem ? I have to work 5 days/8 hours with the client. It is a full time job. Please clarify. My lawyer doesn\'t help me much. Thanks, paragh

Should not be a problem... Even on H1 you can work hourly.

It doesnt matter as long as the wages are in range(as mentioned in LC),I am in a similar situation (except iam not using EAD, still on H1). If you dig through Murthy chat log you will find Murthy\'s opinion on this situation.

Although it would be better to ask your company to "reword" the
employment letter in case of an RFE.

Actually if you dont get a RFE none of this matters....unless you intend to inform the INS voluntarily.

No Title

This is what I Would do :

1.)Join the new employer ASAP. --You can still change
jobs , even with the new employer, since you are past 485 Days.
2.)Ask the new employer, whether he will be willing to give
a employment letter --phrased \'blah blah\'.
3.)Be ready to ask another friend who can sponsor your H-1 in case of Dire Emergency.
4.)Basically, I do not foresee a problem in your case, you can join the new employer ASAP. Many of my friends have done so, and they have got their GC without an issue.
5.)There is a very strong chance that you would get a RFE, if you don\'t then that is your good "deeds", but if you do get a RFE, you have to prove that your current employment "description" is similar to what you have been doing in the past "in I-140 Letter".
6.)Contact the lawyer, get all documents, be in good contacts with them, because many a letters will be sent to them.