Business school, I-485, and Greencard

lbern

Registered Users (C)
(I apologize for posting this elsewhere! I'm new to immigrationportal.com and am still getting used to it. Anyways, here's my story...)

I was recently accepted to a US business school, have decided to attend in the fall, and would like to know how this will impact my immigration case. Here's my situation: Currently, I am working in the US. I am on H-1B visa and in the I-485 stage (Receipt Date, February 16, 2002) of my employment-based GC. INS estimates that I should receive my GC in the late summer. Also, I have an EAD card.

Issue 1: I-485 is approved before I start business school.
- If this is the case, then I should have no immigration issues with attending business school. Is this correct?

Issue 2: I-485 is not approved before I start business school.
- If this is the case, then can I still go to school on my pending I-485 (AOS) and EAD card? If I choose to do this, are there any risks involved? The thing I’m afraid of (after reading through scores of immigration message boards) is that if I get an RFE while in business school, this might be a problem. Anyone have ideas?

Issue 3: I am getting married this summer to a US citizen and am considering filing a marriage-based I-485.
- If I file this marriage-based I-485, can it legally co-exist with my existing employment-based I-485?
- If it can coexist, then can I attend business school on this marriage-based I-485 instead of my employment-based I-485?

Thank you very much,

lbern.

Last edited by a moderator:
Sorry, just got a little bit confused ...
What's your point?
Are you attending the business school in full time and did you terminate your job?

Sorry for the confusion. I was just accepted to a US business school and will start in the fall. Currently, I am working in the US on an H1-B visa and am in the I-485 stage of my greencard process.

Thanks.

Ok here's my $0.02