Applying for GC for parents

Ramsis

Registered Users (C)
Hi everyone. I am back to the forums i got my citizenship and passport and i'm all set now :)

my question is i am applying for the GC for my parents:

1- Do i need to file I-485 a long with the I-130?
2- My dad is going back and forth between Egypt and the us but he will stay here most of the time and will not spend more than 5 month on each trip. should i apply CP or AOS?

i am new to the GC process i had a lawyer when i applied for my GC but i want to do it for my parents myself....

i read the posts about the procedures but for some reason it was not clear enough for me.
thank you

The questions you have are quite basic and covered extensively in the stickies and throughout the forums. Folks wont mind answering your questions, but going through the forums will save you a lot of time in the long run.

Hi everyone. I am back to the forums i got my citizenship and passport and i'm all set now :)

my question is i am applying for the GC for my parents:

1- Do i need to file I-485 a long with the I-130?

You can always file 130 and 485 concurrently. You don't HAVE to but you can.

2- My dad is going back and forth between Egypt and the us but he will stay here most of the time and will not spend more than 5 month on each trip. should i apply CP or AOS?

i am new to the GC process i had a lawyer when i applied for my GC but i want to do it for my parents myself....

i read the posts about the procedures but for some reason it was not clear enough for me.
thank you

CP or AOS really depends on your father and his availability in this country. If you file for AOS, he will need to be here for Fingerprinting, Interview (in case it happens). If you file for CP, then he cannot enter this country from the time it is filed till the time the process is completed.

Hope this helps.
Vinayak

stickies means the Sticky threads at the top of this forum.