Affidavit Of Support Questions

Anitha R

Registered Users (C)
Friends,

I am planning to invite my parents for a visit here and i had some questions regarding this:

1. Is it enough to send the bank statement that we recieve every month or do we have to get a different statement from the bank?

2. I personlly do not own stock but my husband does. Since i am the one who is sending the AOS, do i still have to send all that info?

3. I work as a contractor on an hourly basis. As far as the yearly income on the AOS, can i just state the approx for a year that i would recieve?

4. Also, on the AOS form, there is a section where you say that you will provide board and room for the person during their stay here and what amount of money would be provided etc.... - Can anyone guide me as to what needs to go in here?

My father is a professor and is planning to visit with some universities while he is here to see if he can get some partnerships with his university.....He is planning to come on a business visa and my mother ,who will accompany him, on a tourist visa. I am a little concerned as to whether they will have issues getting visa since the visa types are different. My father has been here quite a few times before but it is the first for my mother....What do you all think? Please post your opinions.

Thanks
-Anitha

Hi AnithaR

These are couple of sample letters I used in the past for my mother in law's visit about 6 months ago. these may help. I found them on one of the visa web sites at that time.

Date:12/18/2000
Name: your name
1234,your street
your city, state zip
USA.
Phones: (Work): (xxx)xxx-xxxx
(Home): (xxx)xxx-xxxx
E-mail: if available

To,
The American Consulate General,
Chennai, India.

Sub: Request for tourist visa to my (name/s of relatives).

Dear Sir/Madam,