Accepting Promotion with salary Hike after I140 approval

beam2006

Registered Users (C)
Hello!!

My I-140 approved and I am "on hold" for I-485 due to quota issue.
I may get promoted during next couple of months. The new role has similar job activites as current one. But it is a Manager position. If I accept the promotion(with a small hike in salary), will this have any impact on 485 application and overall GC process?

Thanks

Unfornutaly yes, unless your company is ready to give you a letter, saying that you are still in a position and job-duties as mentioned in the labor.

I believe it should not have any effect. This means no H1 B can even accept promotion while working for the same employer. Though I am not a lawyer, the current application should be continued for processing as is.There is one person in my office who has risen in position to a supervisor/manager and the greencard application has had no effect.

Why would we provide more info and invite complications if any when one is working for the same employer and the same department.

You would be taking a risk like of getting audit like you would in any process. It is the same idea of not complying with tax laws - chances are you would not get audited, but if you do, you would be in deep s*.
The whole idea behind our agony is that our whole GC process is tailored to 'same or similar job' until GC is approved.

BrainDrain said:
I believe it should not have any effect. This means no H1 B can even accept promotion while working for the same employer. Though I am not a lawyer, the current application should be continued for processing as is.There is one person in my office who has risen in position to a supervisor/manager and the greencard application has had no effect.

Why would we provide more info and invite complications if any when one is working for the same employer and the same department.

For the green card, job duties are what matter, not job titles.