30 months out of 5 years- question

andone

Registered Users (C)
I was a full time student in Canada during my 5 years as a TX Permanent Resident.

DUring the 5 years, i have been in TX for less than 30 months.

I have filed for N400, and soon i will have my interview.

Do you think that my being in the US for less than 30 months will be a problem?

andone said:
I was a full time student in Canada during my 5 years as a TX Permanent Resident.

DUring the 5 years, i have been in TX for less than 30 months.

I have filed for N400, and soon i will have my interview.

Do you think that my being in the US for less than 30 months will be a problem?

I believe it will be a problem. basically, you are not even eligible to file the form.

Hi,
One of the eligibility criteria for naturalization is to be in US for 30 months during the last 5 years.The INS offier will count the total number of months you were in the US.I think they are very strict about that.They would probaly excuse the more than 6 months but less than 1 year continuous residence requirement,but I dint think they will accept if you do not have a stay of 30 months duration.This is the first thing they calculate when they evaluate your N400 and if u dont meet that they wont go any further.
He would most probably ask you to re-submit the N-400 after your 30 months wait time is over.

Last edited by a moderator:
thank you very much for the information guys!

i have one additional question: are the 30 months considered to be until the time I apply for naturalization, or until my interview date?

basically, to the 5 years end when I apply for naturalization or when I have my interview?

thank you again
u guys are great

andone said:
thank you very much for the information guys!

i have one additional question: are the 30 months considered to be until the time I apply for naturalization, or until my interview date?

basically, to the 5 years end when I apply for naturalization or when I have my interview?