What are the options for TVU students who left to India....?

premd

Registered Users (C)
I am a trivalley student who left to india. I have a valid visa through December 2011. I completed my masters at a different university and transferred to TVU after my OPT. I did two semesters at TVU before its closure. I want to come back on new i-20 to a new school. What are my options...? Thanks and appreciate you replies

I am a trivalley student who left to india. I have a valid visa through December 2011. I completed my masters at a different university and transferred to TVU after my OPT. I did two semesters at TVU before its closure. I want to come back on new i-20 to a new school. What are my options...? Thanks and appreciate you replies

I guess you can apply to other colleges and get the i-20 by paying new sevis fee...If your old institution is ready to take you back for some other course or so ..i guess you need not apply for the visa(check with the US Embassy for this) if its some other college i-20 then i guess you have to go again for visa interview(again check with the US Ambassy for this, since you have valid visa its maybe/maynot situation)...The final thing of judgement is on hands of CBP in port of entry...or if you dont want to take risk try to get the i-20 and then talk with US embassy.

-------------------------------------
Disclaimer- Not a lawyer

According to current regulations, a student who was not pursuing a full course of study is permitted to “depart the country and return as an initial entry in a new F-1 nonimmigrant status.” See 8 CFR §214.2(f)(8)(i). If the student chooses this option, he or she will need to pay the SEVIS I-901 fee. If the student’s visa is valid, he or she does not need a new visa if returning to the United States within 5 months of his or her exit date.

someone please explain 8 CFR §214.2(f)(8)(i)