utterly confused about residency requirement

educatedcat

Registered Users (C)
First of all, THANK YOU TO THE MODERATORS AND ALL for this site. It took me years to get my GC, and you were all my support system here. THANK YOU.

NOW MY QUESTION:
I got my GC a year ago--through my employer. Now I am a professor whose one year sabbatical has been approved, starting in June. ALSO, (I am of subcontinent descent), my boyfriend and soon-to-be fiance/husband (US White Citizen) is off to London to study for his MA, starting in September.

I am now completely confused to what physical presence or continuous presence means. I would like to spend time in Asia during my sabbatical doing research (well, that is required by my job) and I want to spend some time in London setting up the beginnings of my married life. But I don't want to break my residency requirements and get denied for citizenship in 4 years.

Also, since my GC, I have also spent about three months (on and off) in Asia doing academic research.

1. DOES THE SIX-MONTH RESIDENCY REQUIREMENT APPLY TO MY ENTIRE FIVE YEARS? That is, can I NOT be out of the US for more than 6 months TOTAL in all of the 5 years?

2. IS IT SIX MONTHS OF CONTINUOUS presence that is required, which means that I need to fly back every few months? Will my years of research in Asia be added up then, because that will be more than six months in five years, especially if my fiance/husband spends a year in London.

Friends, I am a fairly smart person, but this issue of physical or continuous presence and residency requirement MAKES NO SENSE TO ME.

I apologize if my question has already been answered, but I have read USCIS pamphlet on naturalization requirements; I have read many of the threads here; I have read USCIS residency requirement, and I am just confused.

Please help.

First of all, THANK YOU TO THE MODERATORS AND ALL for this site. It took me years to get my GC, and you were all my support system here. THANK YOU.

NOW MY QUESTION: