TN Visa and Licensure

kevind381

Hello,

I have a question about licensure. I am a Social Worker in Ontario. I have a Masters in Social Work and want to move to Maine to be with my partner who has 3 years left in dental school. An employer has offered me a job that I can start before being formally registered as a social worker in the state of Maine. Once I would be registered then I would formally start the job (as a registered social worker). What will happen at the Canadian/US border when they see that I am registered social worker in Ontario but not in Maine and am going for a Social Worker position before I am registered? The employer will explain this in detail in the letter that I will be employed as a social worker once I am registered but will start before being formally registered. Will customs deny me until I am registered??

Thank you lots

To clarify: Registration in Maine is comprised of writing a test and completing the background. I am applying to write the test but it takes time. This employer will employ me before I have completed the test.

Don't confuse "licenciatura" with "license". Licenciatura is simply the Spanish world equivalent to a Bachelor's degree.
A Social worker, like for most TN categories, does not need a license to apply for an get a TN. In fact, a degree is the only accepted requirement under that category.

Of course, you may need a license to practice in a particular jurisdiction, and you and your employer would need to obey those requirements. The granting of a TN does not absolve you of obeying state regulations. An employer will hardly want to keep a professional that is unable to be properly licensed, which would soon kill the TN in any event.