TN for Data Scientist with Engineering degree

orion216

Hi,

I have a Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and an offer for Data Scientist title. I received a recommendation that Data Scientist is a hard sell with Engineering degree, as the most common degrees are Statistician, Maths, Computer Science.

1/ How's everyone's experience with Data Scientist title and Engineering degree ? Did you face scrutiny and how did you solve ?
2/ I am advised by lawyer to change the title to Machine learning Engineer to fit into Software Engineering or Computer Engineering TN category and match with my degree. Is Electrical and Electronic Engineering degree accepted for Software Engineering category ?
3/ Is it necessary to refer to Software Engineering anywhere, as a category ? The category in TN list is just Engineer in general. I'm afraid introducing SE somewhere will raise red flag as I don't have related degree such as Computer Science.
4/ Software Engineer (or just Engineer in general) allows coding. In that case, can I say programming and coding as part of the job, without facing red flags ? I've read so much that programming and coding are no-no words. Is it also true for Engineer, or only Computer System Analyst needs to avoid those terms ?
The wordings that I think of using are : designing, engineering , architecting machine learning solution and platform. Some of those can be tied to coursework. Lastly, programming and coding (or not, to be avoided ?)
5/ It's my understanding that CSA category is a no in this scenario. Engineering seems more relevant.

Thanks.

Last edited:
1. Your question on such a specific experience is unlikely to get a response.
2-3. There is only an "Engineering" category for TN. The job title can indeed have be more specific, but as such, you need to prove that the job is an engineering job, not merely call it an engineering job.