successful CP - 15th july 2003 - mumbai

chiks

Registered Users (C)
The steps were no different than already outlined by others.
But the consular officer was not in a very good mood that day and he went about asking what the company does, what does my job entail, what is ERP(i am a SAP consultant), what does SAP stand for. Finally he asked for my Business Card, and I happened to be carrying one luckily and gave that to him.

BUT

my daughter(5 yrs of age) faced some problems. Her passport was made when she was 1-1/2 yrs old. The officer refused to give her a visa unless I produced a passport with a recent photograph of her. Mind you, her passport was valid till 2008.

So it became a lot of trouble trying to get a new passport on "Tatkal" basis within 3 days, 'cause I was leaving on the 21st night.

So guys, watch out for your childrens passports.

And yes. regarding the I-94(if u remember) for my dependants, they were not a problem at the airport, even though they were valid till last year only, but I had a valid I-797 which I carried with me.

now waiting for my green card to be delivered.

more later.

Hi,

Thanks for sharing your experience and congratulations on completing the process successfully!

I would think there are lots of people in the same situation like yours in this forum with their son/daughter's passport done when they were 6 mos to 1 yr old and I am one of them with my son's passport done when he was just 6 mos old and now he is almost 4 and obviously, looks quite different. So I guess we may have to prepare ourselves for a worst case scenario.

And a question on your I-94: Technically don't you become out of status with an expired I-94 ?? And there were no issues...?

Thanks and good luck for the rest of the process ahead.

RK

that is what I thought, but the immigration officer I talked to reassured me that the H-4 family and that too an immigrant visa applicant, would be no problem if you simply showed them the latest valid I-797.