starting a consulting business on H-1 B

ms. confused

Me and my husband are currently on an H-1B for different employers. We would like to start our own company. As I understand, we can start our company but cannot work for this company. Is it possible to have the following scenario:

My husband starts an LLC or a C-corp. He then employs me by either transferring my H-1 or applying for a new H-1 for me. My role would be to manage the company and also provide consulting services to clients in the same field as I am in presently (which would be the same as my H-1 job description).

Is this possible and legal?

please help!!

I have an MBA degree and have been doing management of healthcare facilities on an H-1. My husband would start the company as a passive investor and hire someone to work on the H-1 paperwork and to hire a lawyer etc. Once my H-1 comes through I would manage the company which would include getting healthcare facilities as clients. On behalf of the company I would do consulting for those healthcare facilities. I would be on salary at the company and all the money generated by my consulting would go to the company.

So, what you saying is my husband cannot even apply for a H-1 for me. What if he hires someone who is a US citizen and then that person files for my H1. Whould that be OK?

I disagree with Joe's analysis. H1 visa's can cover management roles, especially if you are in a technical or specialized field which you appear to be (healthcare). There are plenty of companies in Silicon Valley with CEO's and vice presidents on H1 visas. It all comes down to showing that the position requires specialized knowledge. Most management positions do require specialized knowledge, hence the existence of management schools and MBA's.