Request for Initial Evidence -- Where to send?

kmr1934

Hello! Newbie here -- I found this forum a couple of months ago and have found a lot of useful information.

I filed for my AOS in August and just received an RFE letter to submit I-485A. In the first paragraph of the letter, it says I need to submit the needed information to USDHS in Lee's Summit, MO. However, it later states in the letter: "When submitting Supplement A to Form I-485 with surcharge, send to... " and it gives the Chicago Lockbox address.

I am now confused as where to send the form needed. I called the Customer Service Center who was no help at all, so any help you can give me will be much appreciated.

Thank you!

I live down in Texas and my money orders "certified mail" went to Chicago. I've read others sending their mo to Chicago as well. Do you have a lawyer or legal aide that you can ask? If not, tell me where you live and when I talk to my lawyer tomorrow, I will ask her for you. I will print your post so she can tell me what you should do.

Thanks for your reply, alyon200. I am in New York so when I first sent my forms, they also all went to Chicago. However, the RFE letter states that I should submit the information needed to Lee's Summit, MO; but in the same letter it also states that I should send it to Chicago.

I also found this information on the USCIS website:

Request for Evidence

1. All initial evidence should be submitted at the time of filing. If the initial review finds that initial evidence is missing, the NBC will generally issue a request for evidence (RFE) for the missing documentation.

2. Adjudication of ancillary benefit applications (I-765 and I-131 applications) may be delayed if all initial evidence in support of the principal application is not submitted at the time of filing.

3. Applicants should submit the response to the RFE (with the original request) as quickly as possible to the office issuing the request. Do NOT send the response to the Chicago Lockbox.