J1 --> e1 / j1 --> o / j1 --> h1b

Madex

Hey everybody,

I've been reading trough different forums and threads and still have questions left, so I thought maybe you can help me out here.

Here's the situation:

II'm originally from Germany and I've been in the US as a Fulbright Grantee on a J1 Visa for the last year. Right now I'm doing my OPT, but only until April 1st and then I'll return home on April 29th. Now my OPT employer offered me a job and I'd love to take it, but I'm having some problems figuring out what kind of visa I can obtain to do so. As far as I know, I have different option.

Option 1) Applying for a J1 waiver and then apply for H1B visa. I'm aware that waivers are very rarely granted for Fulbrighters and even if they are, it takes almost a year to get it.

Option 2) Apply for a O visa. Honestly, I do not think that I qualify for that kinf of visa, even though the requirements for "Arts" are not as high as for "Business". I did my Bachelor in Germany, started my Masters here in the States but didn't finish it yet. I did some internships in different companies after my graduation and got excepted as a Fulbrighter, but that's mainly it. I do not have ny kind of published material and I understand that this is a critical part of the requirements for O visas. My OPT employer would be extremely supportive if I chose to pursue this option though.

Option 3) This is not very romantic, but my fiancée is on a E1 visa in the states right now (he's from Germany, too) and I guess if we get married earlier than planned, I could get a E1 spouse visa. The question there would be if I'm at all allowed to work on that kind of visa.

Option 4) Try to get an E1 visa from a different company in the States. I understand that companies that are owned 50% or more by a German can issue E1 visas. I would not be able to work for my OPT employer then, but I'll still be able to be here in the states.