How do I get my wife to US

rjo1

Registered Users (C)
I am a permanent resident.
I am not married at present. I want to marry a girl who is in India and then sponsor her for GC. She has a 10 year B1 visa in her passport.

How do I go about it?

Can I marry her first and then may be get her here on F1 or H1?
Or she comes first on F1 or H1 and then I marry her here?
Can she stay in the US after her studies on F1, but before her GC is done?
Or I file for her GC and she travels from time to time on her B1?

I just don\'t want her to be in India for 4-5 years while I am here, for her application to get through.

Thanks.

mark..

Hi Mark,

What I would do (although I don\'t know if this is good advice) is to have her come here. She can come here and work legally under her B1 right? and it is still valid for a year or so? Then, once she is here, go to vegas or a courthouse to get married, send in your I-130 right away (same day if possible) then you can wait with her together for it to process. In the mean time, I beleive you can file for a work permit incase hers runs out as well as advance parole (so she can visit her home country while waiting on GC, but.. I don\'t think it is a good idea to leave while waiting even if you get advance parole.. kinda scary if they don\'t let you back in the US.. well.. that\'s my advice.. don\'t know if it is good, but for me, the main thing is to be together first :) Good luck

No Title

That only applies to USC not permanent residents. If you are PR and want to get your future wife here your only choice is H1B visa or student visa. With student visa she wont be able to get any financial aid and she has to be in status until she gets GC. Or later lets say you become USC then she can adjust status.

Hope this helps.

I want to marry a guy who has a green card..I am an Indian Citizen