H1B scenario/question

karrad

Registered Users (C)
Hi,
I did a B.Tech from IIT(Chemical Engg) and then came to the US to do a PhD in Chemistry. I then did 1year OPT and two years H1B (post-doc) when I went to Canada to continue my post-doctoral work in Biochemistry. During my stay in Canada I had been doing mostly programming and I also got a Java programmer certification(SCJP). Deciding to change careers and move into software I applied and got a job in a small company in the Bay area which has nothing to do with chemistry or biochemistry.
My question is, what are my chances of getting a H1B becos my degree is not in CS and I can claim maybe 1.5 years experience working in software. I do not have Canadian citizenship.
I am sorry if this is not the right place to ask this question and would be appreciative if somebody could direct me if this is indeed the case.
Thanks
Karrad

Recently some of the Chem Enginerr H1 denied.
But your certification may be helpful.

Hi,
I did a B.Tech from IIT(Chemical Engg) and then came to the US to do a PhD in Chemistry. I then did 1year OPT and two years H1B (post-doc) when I went to Canada to continue my post-doctoral work in Biochemistry. During my stay in Canada I had been doing mostly programming and I also got a Java programmer certification(SCJP). Deciding to change careers and move into software I applied and got a job in a small company in the Bay area which has nothing to do with chemistry or biochemistry.
My question is, what are my chances of getting a H1B becos my degree is not in CS and I can claim maybe 1.5 years experience working in software. I do not have Canadian citizenship.
I am sorry if this is not the right place to ask this question and would be appreciative if somebody could direct me if this is indeed the case.
Thanks
Karrad

Hi, I have a science background - a Masters degree in Chemistry from India and a masters in Biological Sciences in the US.