got a felony conviction - next steps?

clio

Registered Users (C)
I have a wife and 2 sons, all American citizens.

I have been a permanent resident for 19 years, and got a felony conviction for a fight with a son, about 3 years ago.

I was sentenced to 6 months jail time (suspended) and 2 years probation which I completed.

My GC expires in 2015.

According to my studying of the law, I will be put in removal proceedings and would have then to apply for COR.

What would be the recommended course of action?

Should I start this process now or should I wait until the expiration of my GC?

I will be close to 60 by then.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I would consult an immigration attorney now. Most have a reasonable consulting fee. ($100 or less) You have to be very careful. It doesn't seem to qualify as an "aggravated felony". Although your sentence would have had to be more than a year technically. But you need to look into it immediately, they factor in suspended sentences. I don't want to scare you, but you should have consulted an immigration atty before accepting any plea deal (assuming that's what you did). Many permanent residents are deported for accepting plea deals they think won't effect them. And it doesn't matter if you have US children, wife etc... Please do not wait, and at least set up an initial consult (or 2 for second opinion); The sooner the better and good luck

Learned that this is not a deportable offense.

Immigration laws are complex and my reading of them was incorrect.

So yes, it is a good idea to consult an attorney.