Foreign pharmacists and TOEFLiBT

renacaro

Registered Users (C)
I am a foreign pharmacist. I have taken five times the TOEFL iBT test and I have not reached the 26 score in speaking. I think this test is unfair, it does not measure your ability to speak english. I would like to hear the opinion of other foreign pharmacists.

we are in the same page

I have taken the test 4 times now and the max I can get in the speaking section is 23, and I have more than 20 friends that are on the same situation. I think with such a high requirement NABP is pursuing to stop certificating foreign pharmacist. They all know that this TOEFLibt test does not have anything to do with language proficiency, instead is a barrier to prevent more immigrant coming into this country as this Goverment will.
What we can do is to joint our voices and file a claim with U.S. Commission on Civil Rights setting our claim in a discriminatory procedure against different national origins. A language should not be by any means a requirement to certify a foreing graduate. It has to be focus on pharmacy knowledge but never in language. The language is not knowledge the langauge is intrinsic only with identity, origin or nationality but never knowledge. Let the companies to hire the Pharmacits to choose what language their pharmacist has to speak according with their demographical needs. Remember that in this country we have entire communities that do not speak english at all. I am not saying that we do not need to speak English, we all need it and the better we deal with it the more we can achieve in our career. What I am trying to say that NABP should never request for language skills or at least not to set it up in such a high and discriminatory level.
We most joint if we want our voices to be listened
thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Complain to NABP