Filing for S-Corp after EAD

ra999

I have received my EAD and I am planning to start a company. I would not be leaving my present job, but would start something on the sidelines.
I need to know if I can incorporate as a S-Corp or not ? I file for 1040 so I guess I am a permanent resident for tax purposes. Is this defination applied while filing for an S - Corp ?

Thanks for the clarification.

Thanks Joe for the detailed reply. I have spoken to both a lawyer and a CA, but none of them could provide me with as convincing answer as your's.

Now I will look into if LLC would be of any benefit. I am planning to start something in the Custom Electronics / Consumer Electronics industry. This would be a product & service combination. I have already registered this as a sole proprietership. Would appreciate if someone could help me and let me know if LLC would be a reasonable choice as a legal form.
I am sure forming a C-Corp is not useful, as it would absorb too much costs and formalities.

S-Corporation requires all the shareholders to be US residents . Many people (including CPA's and some immigration attorneys)
confuse this thinking that it means GreenCard Holders or Citizens . But "US Residents" is in terms of tax term and not an immigration term .

While the IRS and BCIS agree that "green card" holders are residents, the IRS considers foreign workers temporarily employed in the US as residents for tax purposes too. This is based on the IRS "substantial presence" test, where tax residence for any tax year is generally established if an individual is physically present in the US for the aggregate of 183 days or more over a three year period using a formula that gives more weight to the more recent years."

I checked this with IRS and they answered that even aliens who are resident for tax purposes can be a S-corp shareholder. (By the way for any IRS/Tax questions IRS email support . Its really excellent . I recieved an answer within 2 days