Birth outside US to a US citizen father and a non-US citizen mother

pachanga

Registered Users (C)
I read some of the threads regarding the child birth outside the US soil but am still confused. I just need to clarify if my child can acquire an US citizenship after he/she is born outside US.

Situation:
My wife and I live in Mexico due to my contract work and will not be able to go back to US permanently until the end of 2013. She is pregnant and will have a birth in December 2012 or January 2013.

Facts:
  • I am a US citizen and naturalized in 2009.
  • I acquired my permanent residency in 2002 and have lived in US until January 2012.
  • My wife is a Mexican citizen and a legal permanent resident.

Question:
In what forms can I prove the 5 year physical presence in US? I graduated from high school and college (both undergraduate and graduate degrees) in US. I have worked in US from 1999 to January 2012.

Here is a list of items I can present to meet the requirement:
  • High school diplomat (3 years)
  • College transcripts (4.5 years)
  • Grad school transcripts (3 years)
  • Federal tax transcripts for the past 4 years (2008 to 2011)

Should I prepare other documents in case?

Thank you in advance

Your college and high school transcripts are perfect. They prove you were in the country because you need to be physically present to attend class. These probably cover 5 years, including after your 14th birthday. It looks like you're all set.

In what forms can I prove the 5 year physical presence in US? I graduated from high school and college (both undergraduate and graduate degrees) in US. I have worked in US from 1999 to January 2012.

You can also file a FOIA request for all entry-exit records.

But for this purpose, do 5 years have to be spent while you are a US citizen or even thopse years on green card also count?

-------
If one parent is a U.S. citizen and the other parent is not, the child is a citizen if