Bad Experience entering Canada

AAZZ

Registered Users (C)
I visited Canada for a weekend trip and had a little heated exchange with the Canadian immigration officers at Airport. Some how they were "worried" that I will not go back to US, although I am a US citizen.

I am wondering what can I do (if any thing), so that this expereince will not repeat, and not ruin my future vacations. Your suggestions are welcome.

Basic Info:

1. I am a US citizen. How ever, back in the day when I used to be a student on F1 visa, I applied for Canadian residency.
2. I abandoned my Canadian residency application since my US residency application was later filed. I was under this wrong assumption that I cannot pursue two residencies together.
3. I was called for interview for Canadian residency. Obviously I did not go to it. I guess I should have at least withdrawn my application.Oh well.
4. I became a US permanent resident.
5. I received a rejection notice from Canadians that they are not convinced that I am a "geologist". This was an Error/Typo since I am an engineer. However I did not care as I had abandoned that application.
6. Fast forward a few years, I became US citizen
7. Visited Canada for a weekend trip and they did additional scrutiny asking me if I really will go back to US. Eventually they allowed me in. Enjoyed rest of the trip.

8. I have heard from a Japanese Doc friend of mine that she has to go thru the same expereince, every time she visits Canada. She also applied for Canadian residency in the past and was denied, since she was a undergoing school here in US and did not intend to move right away.

So, here are my questions:

A. Is there any thing I can do, so that if I ever go back to Canada for a vacation, this should NOT happen again.