Applying for EA-NIW while on H4

boston123

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

Has anyone ever applied for EA or NIW while on a H4 visa? Two attorneys told me it wouldn't be a problem; two others told me to find a H1 job first... I have a phd in school psychology and I am seeking self-employment (contracts directly with high schools, and book publishing). I would like to know if being on a H4 and seeking self-employment may jeopardize my chances for EA or NIW.

Thanks!

:)

Judging from your credentials I would suppose EA and NIW should not be a problem. Just get a good lawyer and get all the views. You do not need to be employed to apply for an EA or NIW....that is what I gather. Now having employment may increase your chances of an approval...cannot say that....maybe thats why some lawyers are stressing get an H1....also I dunno what happens to your H4 if your EA/NIW gets denied....mostly nothing....but it always pays to be vigilant.

i guess their question is: how will you prove your exceptional ability if you cannot even put it to work??.....maybe thats the reason why they are suggesting to get a job.....

is it possible for you to get a job in a school/school system....since you have a pretty good qualification??......my friends wife is a teacher.....so if you can give more details i can find out what your options are??

Thanks for your help. I have been trying to get a job in many ways:

1) Assistant professor (university). There is no opening in my field where I live. Since my husband recently got his H1 after obtaining a J1 waiver as a physician, he has to stay at the same hospital for 3 years.This narrows my opportunities because we cannot move at this time.