5 Years Minus 90 Days

sampai

Registered Users (C)
On my Green Card, it says I've been a Permanent Resident since 1/23/02. So I will be applying for citizenship in a few weeks.

According to my calculations, 1/23/02 plus 5 years minus 90 days is 10/25/06. To be safe, I will send in my application on 10/27/06.

Can anyone see anything wrong with this calculation?

I would leave at least 1 week after 5 years minus 90 days just to be safe. You never know how days are calculated by USCIS. So, better be safe than sorry.

Just my 2 cents!

I don't see anything wronf with your calculations. I applied exactly 90 days before my five years and there was no problem. I am done with everything and I have my passport. But if you want your piece of mind, you should take MasterUSA's advice.

Newly

3 monhts residency requirement

I have a related question which hopefully someone can answer

My 5 years post gc complete on 10th Feb 2007, so by virtue of 90 days prior rule, I can file for citizenship approximately 10th Nov.

If i goto India for 3 weeks in mid oct on vacation. does that invalidate the 3 months residency requirement ? I've been living in the same state for all my time post GC.

hope someone has an answer to this

No, you are allowed going on vacation. :)

If you were to change "residences" (i.e., where you live) then you need to look at the residency rules.

Remember, it's 90 days, not 3 months. December and January both have 31 days.

vw78 said:

My 5 years post gc complete on 10th Feb 2007, so by virtue of 90 days prior rule, I can file for citizenship approximately 10th Nov.

If i goto India for 3 weeks in mid oct on vacation. does that invalidate the 3 months residency requirement ? I've been living in the same state for all my time post GC.

You should be good to file around 10th Nov. even though you visit India for only 3 weeks. As long as your visits are within 180 days for each trip outside USA there is no impact on your constinous residency status.