US citizenship and canadian green card

madhuri_dhar

Registered Users (C)
Hi

I am new to this thread and just wondering if someone could advise on my situation below:

I have been on the US green card for about 3.5 years now and would be applying for my citizenship in next 1.5 years or so. Meanwhile my husband (who is in US currently working on H1) applied for canadian Green card (He has applied for US green card as well but considering the plight of the immigration process in US, we decided to explore canadian option as well) and I am his beneficiary on his canadian application. Just recently, we got an interview call from the canadian embassy in the US and here are my questions

1) If I get the canadian GC now, how would it affect my chances of getting US citizenship 1.5 years down the road. Because the way I understand it is is that it's all about 'intent'. Would it not show 'dual-intent' to the immigration officer when he sees that I applied and got canadian GC as well after the US GC and I may not intend to stay in the US forever ??

2) How would it affect my husband's US Green Card process (which is currently stuck at the first stage in labor).

3) Most imp. point: Suppose we get the canadian GC and are asked to go to Canada for stamping/other formalities, how should my husband enter back into the US. I would like to mention that his H1 is not stamped right now with a visa. So eg if he enters as a canadian GC holder, can he still continue here in the US on his H1 without jeopardizing his pending US GC application. I mean his H1 would still be valid, right?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. We really want to do it right and not get into troubles later

Thanks