travel with plastic GC and I-94

chand311

Registered Users (C)
I would be travelling abroad and I have my plastic GC. I also have my I-94 from my F-1. I know it doesnt mean anything now as I am a permenant resident now. . But do I still need to submit to the immigration officer when i leave USA? Or do I need to send it in post to USCIS OR do i just need to keep it with myself OR do i need to discard it?

Hope to hear from some knowledgeable person . Thanks a lot,

This is correct. Your I-94 has no further valude. CIS usually asks you to return I-94 (yours is the first case I am aware of where it was not) as well as EAD cards. They did not ask for mine, so I have kept them as a souvenier.

I suppose if you really wanted to you could mail it back to them; I'd just discard it. When entering the US you will only need to show your plastic card. As most of us have experienced, come through an airport and immigration will also ask for a passport; latter not asked for when driving through Canada/Mexico.

rgds,
sadiq

sadiq said:
As most of us have experienced, come through an airport and immigration will also ask for a passport; latter not asked for when driving through Canada/Mexico.

By golly, are you advising other to not take thier passport when driving to Canada or Mexico? Dont spread wrong information that could get others into trouble. If you are driving to Canada or Mexico, you still need to take the passport and US GC.

----------------------------
Vote Bush '04

Don't be stupid to go to Canada or Mexico without your passport and get into trouble at the border. People who have been detained at the border don't think the holding cells are very comfortable.

Be safe, take your passport and GC when going to Canada and Mexico. Live happy.

Vote Bush '04

One does not need a foreign passport if one has a US GC with him/her while entering the US from Canada/Mexico. Period.