TN Visa required/appropriate in my case?

Enkala

I am a Canadian citizen living in India. I have a degree in electrical engineering and worked on a TN-1 visa for 8 years (2006 to 2014) as a W-2 employee for a staffing company (company X) which put me on assignments at a large engineering company (company Y).
Recently, company Y contacted me to do some project work.
Since company X is the approved vendor, the purchase order will be processed through company X which will bill company Y. I, as an individual professional, will bill company X for my work and company X will deposit money into my bank account in India. I have made an agreement with company X to work as an independent contractor. I have also provided W-8BEN. Is this arrangement OK? Or should I incorporate a company in India?
Most of the work can be performed remotely from India, but there will be a need for me to visit company Y for about 2 weeks for project kick off, get familiar with equipment in the engineering lab, setup laptop with VPN access etc. For the 2 week visit -
1. Do I need to get a TN visa through company X? 2. Will the visit be considered a business trip?
3. What type of documentation will I need from company X to show the immigration officer at the international airport in USA?

I appreciate anyone that can provide answers to my questions. Many thanks in advance!

Company X tells me that as an independent contractor, I am not considered their employee. They don't think TN visa letter makes sense in this case and unsure what a TN letter would even state. Any guidance here will be appreciated.

If you are an independent contractor, then you can get the TN letter (which would simply explain your relationship, and identify Y as the client/project) form either Company X, or company Y (which would identify itself as your client).

I was reading the US State Department website.