TN visa renewal at Canadian border

mpkv

Registered Users (C)
Hello,

I am a Canadian citizen with a Ph d in engineering.I am working with a company in the USA which gives me an appointment letter for only one year. This is my first year and my TN visa (and my family too) is valid till the first week of January 2003. Say approximately two months from now.
The company will issue me a fresh letter of appointment saying that i have been offered the temp job for another year.

My questions are:

1) Can i go to the Canadian border now to renew the TN visa? Or is there some minimum time - like you should be there within a week or two before the expiry of TN visa?

2) Instead of going to the border - can i apply by mail? does it affect the chances of getting the renewal? When can one apply by mail? the time-frame i mean.

This forum has been really a great help to me. All replies with suggestions and advice are greatly appreciated.

Thanks

mpkv

Originally posted by mpkv
Hello,

I am a Canadian citizen with a Ph d in engineering.I am working with a company in the USA which gives me an appointment letter for only one year. This is my first year and my TN visa (and my family too) is valid till the first week of January 2003. Say approximately two months from now.
The company will issue me a fresh letter of appointment saying that i have been offered the temp job for another year.

My questions are:

1) Can i go to the Canadian border now to renew the TN visa? Or is there some minimum time - like you should be there within a week or two before the expiry of TN visa?

<Yes you can renew your TN visa at the border. However the TN visa fee is higher at the border than at the airport by $7 >

2) Instead of going to the border - can i apply by mail? does it affect the chances of getting the renewal? When can one apply by mail? the time-frame i mean.
<Cannot apply by mail. You will have to be present.>