TN Visa Layoff Questions

sagarv

I was wondering if I could seek some advice regarding my immigration situation;

- I have been working under valid TN status (Sci-Tech) for the past 6 years.
- My current employer informed me on Oct 30, 2016 that my last day of employment would be November 1st due to layoff. My I-94 is valid until March 6, 2017.
- On Oct 31, 2016, I filed a form I-539 requesting change to B-2 status until Jan 31, 2017 so I can close my affairs. I believe I am now B-2 pending. I have not yet received a receipt of this filing from UCSIS.
- Today I received a new job offer, performing similar duties as my past jobs. The new employer requests that I start no later than December 5.

My questions are as follows.

1) I plan to fly to Toronto around Nov 30 and apply for new TN at Peace Bridge, as I have done in the past, and then return immediately (pending approval). Is there anything I might be missing with this schedule? Will the immigration officer ask why I am returning so soon, or ask for a receipt of my B2 filing (which I don't have)?

2) How should I explain to the immigration officer my gap in employment? My understanding is that seeking employment is not a valid reason to be on B2. Is it likely the officer will ask how/when I attained this employment offer after filing a B2 when I should have been "closing my affairs" ?

3) Is it likely I will be scrutinized for spending the past 6 years in the US and looking to return there for work again? I own a property in Toronto and can produce utility bills, but I'm not sure if this is sufficient evidence to show my residential status in Canada.

Thanks for your help.

First, everything in your preamble is correct. You are in B2-pending.