TN Visa for Software Engineering Position With Mechanical Engineering Degree?

Eng_steve

Hey all, I found this forum and I'm really hoping to gain some insight to better understand how to handle my situation.

Some background: I'm a Canadian with an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering. I'm currently doing a Masters in Electrical and Computer engineering, my research is complete and all I have to do is write my thesis which should take 4-6 months after which I'll recieve my Masters degree.

Due to my experience with the masters, I've been offered employment with a US company. I am due to start June 3rd, and as such I'm looking to get a TN visa. I've worked in the states previously on a TN visa, as a mechanical engineer. I plan to write my thesis while I work.

The title for the job I've been offered is Artificial Intelligence Engineer. I plan to show my transcript and degree from when I had graduated from mechanical engineering, with no reference made whatsoever to the fact that I'm pursuing my masters since as far as I know it isn't relevant due to the fact that I haven't completed it yet.

My concerns are that the border patrol officer may decide that my mechanical engineering degree does not have sufficient overlap with my current job description - it deals heavily in software engineering. I know to stay away from the "programming" buzzword, and in all honesty this job entails using a computer as essentially a more capable calculator to build predictive models rather than programs themselves. On the other hand, if I mention my masters which does overlap significantly with my job responsibilities, I may run into issues with the fact that the degree has not been completed yet and I'd really rather not pass up a good opportunity to hope that another comes up on 6 months when I'm finished.